Most Popular

American Authors

European Authors

Female Authors

Literary Documentary

Shakespeare

Heroes and Legends: The Most Influential Characters of Literature

Classical and Medieval Literature

Loading more films...

637 Videos in Literature

Loading...

Chris & Don - A Love Story
The true-life story of the passionate three-decade relationship between British writer Christopher Isherwood (whose Berlin Stories was the basis for all incarnations of Cabaret ) and American portrait painter Don Bachardy, thirty years his junior. From Isherwood's Kit-Kat-Club years in…
Regarding Susan Sontag - Portrait of a Feminist Icon
An intimate and nuanced investigation into the life of one of the most influential and provocative thinkers of the 20th century. Endlessly curious, passionate and gracefully outspoken throughout her career, Susan Sontag became one of the most important literary, political…
Lorraine Hansberry: Sighted Eyes/Feeling Heart - The Life and Work of a Treasured American Playwright
This documentary sheds valuable light on all aspects of Lorraine Hansberry's play, A Raisin in the Sun , including the daunting challenge of securing investment and a venue for this production about a working class Black family, the casting process,…
All Quiet On the Western Front
Richard Thomas ( The Waltons ) stars in a powerful and dramatic adaptation of Erich Maria Remarque's acclaimed novel, All Quiet On the Western Front . At the rise of World War I, German patriot Paul Baumer (Thomas) and his…
Tokyo Fiancée
Based on Amelie Nothomb's bestselling novel, Tokyo Fiancee is an entertaining romantic comedy that will appeal to fans of Jean-Pierre Jeunet's Amelie and Sofia Coppola's Lost in Translation. The young, pixie-like Amelie is in love with all things Japanese, which…
Hamlet
A film of the ground-breaking Royal Exchange Theater production of Hamlet, with renowned British actress Maxine Peake in the title role. "Peake's delicate ferocity, her particular mixture of concentration and lightness, ensure that you to follow her whenever she appears."…
Hamlet
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
James Thurber: The Life and Hard Times - A Great American Humoristst
James Thurber: The Life and Hard Times is the first major documentary on the life and work of one of America's greatest humorists. Known for his classic short story, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thurber was a legendary contributor…
Paris Was A Woman - A History of Female Artists in Paris
A film portrait of the creative community of women writers, artists, photographers and editors (including Colette, Djuna Barnes, Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas) who flocked to the Left Bank of Paris in the early decades of the 20th century.…
Julius Caesar
A fast-moving thriller about a struggle for democracy, William Shakespeare's Julius Caesar is also a love story between two men united by an explosive act of political violence. Based on the Royal Shakespeare Company's acclaimed stage production, Gregory Doran's film…
Howard Zinn: You Can't Be Neutral on a Moving Train
We mourn the loss of author, activist, historian and beloved folk hero Howard Zinn, who has been an integral part of the First Run legacy for many years. Howard lent his support to many First Run films (many of which…
Chimes at Midnight
The crowning achievement of Orson Welles's extraordinary film career was the culmination of the filmmaker's lifelong obsession with Shakespeare's ultimate rapscallion, Sir John Falstaff. Usually a comic supporting figure, Falstaff--the loyal, often soused friend of King Henry IV's wayward son…
Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life
This Academy Award nominated documentary is the first authorized film look at the life and work of the controversial Russian-born author Ayn Rand. The writer of such renowned novels as The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged is the subject of Michael…
Comic Book Confidential
Comic Book Confidential is a feature-length documentary that profiles twenty-two of the most significant artists and writers working in comic books, graphic novels and strip-art in North America today. In an entertaining and informative combination of interviews, historical footage and…
The Winter's Tale
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
My Letter To The World - A Journey through the Life of Emily Dickinson
Poet Emily Dickinson, pigeonholed as the strange recluse since her death, takes you on a journey through the seasons of her life amid 1800s New England. Narrated by Cynthia Nixon and featuring behind-the-scenes clips from the biopic A Quiet Passion…
Death of a Salesman
During the post-war boom period of the late '40s, Willy Loman is an aging, traveling salesman, who despairs that his life his been lived in vain. Facing dispensability and insignificance in a heated, youthful economy, Willy is not ready to…
Rachel Carson - The Woman Who Launched the Modern Environmental Movement
PBS
When Rachel Carson's Silent Spring was published in 1962, the book became a phenomenon. A passionate and eloquent warning about the long-term dangers of pesticides, the book unleashed an extraordinary national debate and was greeted by vigorous attacks from the…
Wuthering Heights
Andrea Arnold's WUTHERING HEIGHTS is an excitingly fresh and distinct take on the classic novel by Emily Bronte. An epic love story that spans childhood well into the young adult years, the film follows Heathcliff, a boy taken in by…
Paul Bowles: The Cage Door is Always Open
When Paul Bowles moved to Tangiers, Morocco in 1949, it was a sanctuary for artists, writers and the wealthy to do as they pleased without fear of prosecution. Soon, his friends from America began visiting: Tennessee Williams, Truman Capote, Gore…