Most Popular

American Authors

European Authors

Female Authors

Literary Documentary

Shakespeare

Heroes and Legends: The Most Influential Characters of Literature

Classical and Medieval Literature

Loading more films...

625 Videos in Literature

Loading...

Regarding Susan Sontag - Portrait of a Feminist Icon
An intimate and nuanced investigation into the life of one of the most influential and provocative thinkers of the 20th century. Endlessly curious, passionate and gracefully outspoken throughout her career, Susan Sontag became one of the most important literary, political…
Lorraine Hansberry: Sighted Eyes/Feeling Heart - The Life and Work of a Treasured American Playwright
This documentary sheds valuable light on all aspects of Lorraine Hansberry's play, A Raisin in the Sun , including the daunting challenge of securing investment and a venue for this production about a working class Black family, the casting process,…
Tokyo Fiancée
Based on Amelie Nothomb's bestselling novel, Tokyo Fiancee is an entertaining romantic comedy that will appeal to fans of Jean-Pierre Jeunet's Amelie and Sofia Coppola's Lost in Translation. The young, pixie-like Amelie is in love with all things Japanese, which…
Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise - Biography of an Influential Civil Rights Activist and Poet
PBS
Distinctly referred to as "a redwood tree, with deep roots in American culture," Dr. Maya Angelou (April 4, 1928-May 28, 2014) led a prolific life. As a singer, dancer, activist, poet and writer, she inspired generations with lyrical modern African-American…
Rachel Carson - The Woman Who Launched the Modern Environmental Movement
PBS
When Rachel Carson's Silent Spring was published in 1962, the book became a phenomenon. A passionate and eloquent warning about the long-term dangers of pesticides, the book unleashed an extraordinary national debate and was greeted by vigorous attacks from the…
Paris Was A Woman - A History of Female Artists in Paris
A film portrait of the creative community of women writers, artists, photographers and editors (including Colette, Djuna Barnes, Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas) who flocked to the Left Bank of Paris in the early decades of the 20th century.…
Chris & Don - A Love Story
The true-life story of the passionate three-decade relationship between British writer Christopher Isherwood (whose Berlin Stories was the basis for all incarnations of Cabaret ) and American portrait painter Don Bachardy, thirty years his junior. From Isherwood's Kit-Kat-Club years in…
Wuthering Heights
Andrea Arnold's WUTHERING HEIGHTS is an excitingly fresh and distinct take on the classic novel by Emily Bronte. An epic love story that spans childhood well into the young adult years, the film follows Heathcliff, a boy taken in by…
All Quiet On the Western Front
Richard Thomas ( The Waltons ) stars in a powerful and dramatic adaptation of Erich Maria Remarque's acclaimed novel, All Quiet On the Western Front . At the rise of World War I, German patriot Paul Baumer (Thomas) and his…
Hamlet
A film of the ground-breaking Royal Exchange Theater production of Hamlet, with renowned British actress Maxine Peake in the title role. "Peake's delicate ferocity, her particular mixture of concentration and lightness, ensure that you to follow her whenever she appears."…
Zora Neale Hurston: Jump at the Sun
Zora Neale Hurston, path-breaking novelist, pioneering anthropologist and one of the first black women to enter the American literary canon ( Their Eyes Were Watching God ), established the African American vernacular as one of the most vital, inventive voices…
Death of a Salesman
During the post-war boom period of the late '40s, Willy Loman is an aging, traveling salesman, who despairs that his life his been lived in vain. Facing dispensability and insignificance in a heated, youthful economy, Willy is not ready to…
Hamlet
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
James Thurber: The Life and Hard Times - A Great American Humoristst
James Thurber: The Life and Hard Times is the first major documentary on the life and work of one of America's greatest humorists. Known for his classic short story, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thurber was a legendary contributor…
Howard Zinn: You Can't Be Neutral on a Moving Train
We mourn the loss of author, activist, historian and beloved folk hero Howard Zinn, who has been an integral part of the First Run legacy for many years. Howard lent his support to many First Run films (many of which…
Alone on the Island of the Blue Dolphins - The Story Behind the Famous Children's Book
Every November, nearly half a million 4th graders read "Island of the Blue Dolphins". For many, this is their first real reading experience, their first 'chapter book.' Educators selected Scott O'Dell's novel because it's a very exciting story of survival…
Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life
This Academy Award nominated documentary is the first authorized film look at the life and work of the controversial Russian-born author Ayn Rand. The writer of such renowned novels as The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged is the subject of Michael…
The Tempest
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
Sex In The Comix - The History of Erotic Content in Sequential Art.
A revealing journey into the heart of erotic comic strips, SEX IN THE COMIX examines the colorful history of a unique and risque art form. With New York comic artist and burlesque performer Molly Crabapple as our guide, this documentary…
My Letter To The World - A Journey through the Life of Emily Dickinson
Poet Emily Dickinson, pigeonholed as the strange recluse since her death, takes you on a journey through the seasons of her life amid 1800s New England. Narrated by Cynthia Nixon and featuring behind-the-scenes clips from the biopic A Quiet Passion…